Skip to product information
1 of 3

Bela Bartok - Mikrokosmos Volume 6 Pink For Piano Book (Nos 140-153)

Bela Bartok - Mikrokosmos Volume 6 Pink For Piano Book (Nos 140-153)

SKU: 48011053
Regular price $22.95
Regular price $25.95 Sale price $22.95
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

🇦🇺 Free Australia-Wide Shipping Over $129*

📦 Economy Un-tracked Shipping $5.99* (No Tracking Number)

🚚 Standard Tracked Shipping Under $64.99 - $13.99*

🚚 Standard Tracked Shipping Over $64.99 - $9.99*

✈️ Express Tracked Shipping $18.99*

Boosey & Hawkes 

Bela Bartok - Mikrokosmos Volume 6 Pink For Piano Book (Nos 140-153)  📚

Piano Level: Intermediate - Advanced

Discover the musical world of Bela Bartok's "Mikrokosmos Volume 6 Pink for Piano Book (Nos 140-153)" brought to you by Boosey & Hawkes. This edition, which stands as the definitive version published in 1987, carries the essence of a piano teaching classic. Within its pages, an introduction penned by the composer's son, Peter Bartók, offers further insight into this remarkable work. The text is presented in English, French, German, and Hungarian.

In 1945, Bela Bartok introduced Mikrokosmos as a collection of 153 piano pieces crafted for didactic purposes. He envisioned them as a diverse array of compositions, each encompassing distinct styles. To him, this collection represented a miniature world, tailored for the realm of the young and the learners. Mikrokosmos is a reflection of Bartok's immersion in folk music, and its rhythms and harmonies epitomise a musicality that remains contemporary, transcending the passage of time.

The cycle's 153 pieces are thoughtfully organised into six volumes, each progressing in technical and musical complexity. In Mikrokosmos Volume 6, you'll encounter specific teaching points that guide your journey: divided arpeggios, minor seconds, major sevenths, and ostinato. These musical elements are masterfully interwoven to enhance your understanding and playing abilities.

With 64 pages of insightful content, this book encapsulates Bartok's profound musical legacy and invites pianists of all levels to explore the intricate nuances of his Mikrokosmos. Volume 6 contains Nos. 140-153.


Piano / Grade 7 / List D

  • Free Variations No. 140 from Mikrokosmos Vol. 6 BB 105

Who Was Béla Bartók?

Béla Bartók (1881–1945) was a Hungarian composer, pianist, and ethnomusicologist, renowned for his significant contributions to 20th-century music. He was a pioneer in integrating folk music elements into his compositions, fusing traditional melodies and rhythms with modernist techniques. Bartók's works span a wide range of genres, from orchestral and chamber music to piano solos and operas. He explored new tonalities and rhythmic complexities, shaping his distinct musical language. Beyond his compositional legacy, Bartók's passion for ethnomusicology led him to research and record traditional folk music from various cultures, preserving a vast cultural heritage. His artistic innovations and dedication to folk traditions have left an indelible mark on the world of music.

Shipping & Returns Information

View full details

Collapsible content

Please take a moment to review our policy for music book returns.

We want to take a moment to explain our return policy for music books. Unfortunately, we're unable to accept returns of any kind due to the copyright regulations surrounding the content in the books. Once a book has been sold, it can't be resold or shared without permission from the copyright holder, which is usually the publisher.

As much as we'd love to be able to offer refunds or exchanges, we're committed to upholding the law and respecting the intellectual property rights of our suppliers. We understand that this may be disappointing for some customers, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

If you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us.
We appreciate your understanding and look forward to continuing to supply our customers with an enormous range of affordable music books!

- The Team at Music2u